Transportation Assistance

DMV offices are temporarily closed to the public and in person appointments are currently not available. Check the DMV’s Online Services page here for ways to complete DMV business. The DMV has expanded eligibility to renew online.

Online: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv

Offering to temporarily suspend the requirement to have current license plate stickers through June 2020 for vehicles with registration expiring between March 4 and June 30, 2020 and waiving the late fees and penalties for vehicle registration renewals due between March 16 and May 31, 2020, and paid within 60 days of the original expiration date. The DMV will mail a refund check to reimburse customers who paid for the registration penalties for expiration dates on or after March 16, 2020.

No fee for waiving late fees and penalties. To calculate registration renewal fees, use the Registration Fee Calculator located at https://bit.ly/3c93WIG.

Please Note: California has not waived smog requirements for vehicle registration. If your renewal notice indicates a smog test is required, your vehicle must pass the smog test before you receive your new registration and sticker. With the 60-day waiver of late fees and penalties for vehicle registration renewals due between March 16 and May 31, 2020, you now have more time to complete the smog check. The DMV recommends customers have their vehicle pass a smog check before paying registration since customers who pay their renewal fees before the smog test will not receive their new registration and sticker until the vehicle passes the smog test.

Individuals may renew their registration through the DMV’s Virtual Field Office at https://bit.ly/35yhZVy

The DMV is offering to temporarily suspend, through June 22, 2020, the requirement to submit a transfer of ownership within 10 days for vehicle transfers due to the temporary closure of DMV field offices. Late fees and penalties while the 10-day requirement has been suspended will be waived by the DMV. Title transfers are still available through the DMV Virtual Field Office. Vehicle transfers occurring on or after March 4, 2020 are eligible for extension. No fee for extension. Fee for transfer of ownership will be determined when the application is submitted to the DMV. Payment can be made through electronic check. 

To submit a transfer of ownership, visit the DMV Virtual Field Office at https://bit.ly/2W7HVUV. Individuals will have the option to upload documents and provide an e-signature if required. Information needed will include a copy of the title signed by the buyer, seller, and lienholder if applicable, the individual’s driver license number, the vehicle’s license plate number (VIN), the legal owner or lienholder’s name and address, the vehicle make, model and year, and the purchase date and price. If the title has not been signed by all required parties, you may not request a title transfer through the DMV Virtual Field Office. 

Offering to extend the expiration dates of California IDs that will be expiring on or or after March 4, 2020, to be valid through June 22, 2020. No fee for extension. There is a $32 fee to renew an ID. Please Note: The most recent photo on file at the DMV will be used as the photo on the new ID if renewal is done online.

The extension is automatic and does not require additional action on the cardholder’s part. Individuals who wish to renew their California ID may still be able to do so online by visiting the DMV’s online website at https://bit.ly/3cjBjbC.

The California DMV is allowing individuals to avoid required visits to DMV field offices for
60 days beginning on March 16, 2020 in order to protect the health and safety of individuals who are at risk  to COVID-19 such as older adults and other immunocompromised individuals.

During this period, the DMV is asking law enforcement in California to exercise discretion when enforcing expiration dates of driver’s licenses and vehicle registrations.

Example visits for driver’s license renewal include individuals who are subject to vision testing, have a complex driving history, are required to renew in the office due to their last visit being 15 years prior, or who are 70 years
of age or older and are required to take a knowledge test.

Example visits for vehicle registration renewal include outdated insurance information, registration that has expired for 90 days or more, smog issues, and recent transfers.

For more information please see the press release here: https://bit.ly/3dJxNIV

Beginning April 16th and lasting until further notice, the B-Line has modified the fixed Route schedule. Some of the changes will be temporary (lasting a week or two), while others may last longer. Updates will be posted online in the announcement section on the B-Line website and through the official Facebook page.

Please call dispatch at 530-342-0221 to confirm available bus routes.

Online: blinetransit.com

Official B-Line Transit Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blinetransit/

Please use the schedules listed at the link below until further notice. Times that are shaded out are not operating during this time. Routes that are not in service during this time include the Student Shuttle routes (8 & 9), route 32 (Gridley/Chico) and route 52 (Chico Airport).

B-Line Reduced Schedule during Shelter in Place – April 2020

In response to confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Butte County, an abundance of caution is needed to help slow the spread of this virus. Effective immediately, the BCAG office will be closed to the public and will be available by appointment only.

The bus system is considered “critical infrastructure” and will remain open to the public until further notice for the fixed route and complimentary door-to-door paratransit service for those eligible. Paratransit applications will continue to be processed during this time.

Efforts to sanitize the buses and paratransit vehicles daily will continue and B-Line staff will encourage everyone to follow the CDC’s guidelines for staying safe and flattening the curve of this virus. Guidelines for California here: www.covid19.ca.gov

You will still be able to purchase bus passes over the phone, through the mail using an order form from the website, or in person at the Chico Transit Center from 7:30am-5:30pm.

B-Line customer service is still available at (530) 342-0221 or 1-800-822-8145 8:00 am-5:00 pm M-F.

BCAG is available by phone at (530) 809-4616, option 1. Please leave a message if you reach the voicemail.

Public office hours will resume as soon as the circumstances and protocol guidelines allow.

Online: www.blinetransit.com
By Phone: (530) 342-0221 or 1-800-822-8145
M-F: 8:00 am-5:00 pm
Facebook:  www.facebook.com/blinetransit/

Beginning Monday, April 13th, 2020 the B-line will offer free fare to all passengers on both the fixed route and Paratransit systems. Free fares will continue until the end of May, but could possibly extended depending on the current situation.

Online here: http://www.blinetransit.com/ 

In response the Governor’s order to shelter in place as a result of the spread of COVID-19, Glenn Transit Service is modifying its operation of Glenn Ride. Beginning March 23, 2020, Glenn Ride will only service Trips 2, 4, 5, and 7 of its scheduled trips during weekday’s. Saturday service, Dial-A-Ride and Volunteer Medical Service will continue as presently operated provided there is adequate staffing. This operating schedule will remain in effect until further notice.

Online: https://www.countyofglenn.net/dept/public-works/public-transit-transportation/welcome
Hours: available M-F: 8am-5pm
Phone: 530-934-6700
Toll-Free: 888-800-7433